I will never understand men

Volonte' fotografo milano…I’d gone to bed at 9 p.m.
turned out the lights
pulled up the covers –
their gaiety, their happiness
their screams, their paper hats,
their automobiles, their women,
their amateur drunks…
New Year’s Eve always terrifies me
life knows nothing of years.
now the horns have stopped and
the firecrackers and the thunder…
it’s all over in five minutes…
all I hear is the rain
on the palm leaves,
and I think,
I will never understand men,
but I have lived
it through.

…Ero andato a letto alle 9
spensi la luce
tirai via le coperte –
la loro gaiezza, la loro felicità,
i loro strilli, i loro cappelli di carta,
le loro automobili, le loro donne,
i loro ubriaconi dilettanti
l’ultimo giorno dell’anno mi terrorizzava sempre
la vita non sa nulla, degli anni
ora i clacson hanno smesso di suonare,
e i mortaretti e il suono…
tutto finito in cinque minuti…
tutto quello che sento è la pioggia
sulle foglie di palma,
e penso:
non capirò mai gli uomini,
ma sono
ancora vivo.
_ Charles Bukowski (Palm leaves, excerpt) _

Image info:
“I will never understand men”
Italy, Dec. 2014
© Massimo S. Volonté

2 thoughts on “I will never understand men

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.