Nightmare no. 95

volonte' fotografo milanoI can hear the helicopters flying low, above me
Going round and round
Are they looking for someone?
Beams of blinding light
White lines rape innocents that are not so
We are chased by bloodthirsty mongrels, red blood
“I saw the best minds of my generation destroyed by madness…” *1
I am seeking a shelter, a refuge, a getaway
I want to escape
My mistakes from yesterday
My responsibilities of today
The fears of the forthcoming night
Recurring nightmares
I’m cold
“You are dead. I’m alive” *2
Your left hand on my gun
Now gelid
A Colt mod. 1911 A1
Against the right temple
Is life beautiful?
Yes, it’s wonderfully difficult
My wounds, your
I want to scream
“Dance, dance, otherwise we are lost” *3
Yes, dance one more time, you and me, like there’s no tomorrow
I was doing the fool, making you laughing
Alone, hidden from the world, among the tobacco plants with the big leaves
We, marked forever by our white skin
I’ve known your millimeter over millimeter
Stolen kisses, against all odds
“Condemn me. It is of no importance. History will absolve me.” *4
The city of nothingness was destroyed at dawn
The sun of future
I remember the children chasing each other in the narrow streets of La Habana vieja, their smiles under the sudden rain
Revolution now
More utopia
While everything is collapsing
“La vida es sueño y los sueños, sueños son” *5
I was a man in the morning only
I’ve had 30, and once upon a time, on the edge of the cliff, I was able to leave my ghosts behind
Nowadays I’m in free fall, down a spiral immersed in this desert that seems an infinite universe
The infinite does not exist, there’s only a tendency to the infinite
“I’m nothing. I shall always be nothing. I can only want to be nothing. Apart from this, I’ve in me all the dreams in the world.” *6

Sento gli elicotteri volare bassi, sopra di me
Girano e girano
Stanno cercando qualcuno?
Fasci di luce accecante
Righe bianche violentano innocenti che non sono
Siamo inseguiti da cani bastardi assetati di sangue, rosso
“Ho visto le menti migliori della mia generazione distrutte dalla pazzia…” *1
Cerco un riparo, un rifugio, una via di fuga
Voglio fuggire
I miei errori di ieri
Le mie responsabilità di oggi
Le paure della notte che verrà
Incubi ricorrenti
Ho freddo
“Voi siete morti. Io sono vivo” *2
La tua mano sinistra sulla mia pistola
Ormai fredda
La Colt mod. 1911 A1
Contro la tempia destra
La vita è bella?
Si, è meravigliosamente difficile
Le mie ferite, la tua
Vorrei urlare
“Danziamo, danziamo, altrimenti siamo perduti” *3
Si, balliamo ancora, io e te, come se non ci fosse un domani
Io che facevo il buffone, ti facevo ridere
Soli, nascosti al mondo, tra le piante di tabacco dalle grandi foglie
Noi, marchiati per sempre dalla pelle bianca
La tua l’ho conosciuta millimetro per millimetro
Baci rubati, contro tutto e tutti
“Condannatemi. Non ha nessuna importanza. La storia mi assolverà.” *4
La città del nulla è stata distrutta all’alba
Il sol dell’avvenire
Ricordo i bambini rincorrersi nelle strette vie de l’Havana vieja, il loro sorriso sotto la pioggia improvvisa
Rivoluzione adesso
Ancora l’utopia
Mentre tutto sta crollando
“La vida es sueño y los sueños, sueños son” *5
Sono stato un uomo solamente al mattino
Ho avuto 30 anni e una volta, sul limite della scogliera, sono riuscito a lasciare i miei spettri alle spalle
Adesso sono in caduta libera, in una spirale immersa in questo deserto che sembra un’universo infinito
L’infinito non esiste, si può solamente tendere, all’infinito
“Non sono niente. Non sarò mai niente. Non posso voler essere niente. A parte questo, ho dentro me tutti i sogni del mondo.” *6
_ Hugh S. Graves _

Quotes *:
1- Allen Ginsberg, from Howl
2- Philip K. Dick, from Ubik
3- Pina Bausch
4- Fidel Castro
5- Pedro Calderon de la Barca, from Life is a dream
6- Álvaro de Campos (aka Fernando Pessoa), from The Tobacconist

Image info:
“Nightmare no. 95”
Italy, Oct. 2015
© Massimo S. Volonté

2 thoughts on “Nightmare no. 95

Leave a Reply

