That other life is just a memory to me now

volonte' fotografo milanoTurn my whiskey into water
My cigarettes, I don’t know what they taste like
Other women seem so ugly to me now
Playthings stand dusty
Books lie open on the page where I met her
And that other life is just a memory to me now
So tell me how it feels
It feels so good
Tell me how it goes
It goes so fast
Tell me how it feels
It feels so good
Tell me how it goes
It goes so fast, so fast
I was clumsy, heavy-handed
Grown selfish, ill-tempered but that life
Is just a memory to me now
Softly nudge toward her
Gently put inside her and that other life
Just seems so ugly to me now…
_ Tindersticks (Whiskey And Water, excerpt) _

Image info:
“That other life is just a memory to me now”
Milano, Italy, 1994
© Massimo S. Volonté

Leave a Reply

