How did I die?

volonte fotografo milanoI was in a crater
pockmarked fields on either side
I was meant to be all safe
How did I die?
How did I die?
or didn’t I?
Un sursaut, une crispation,
mon corps soudain
comme vouiant s’engloutir
dans la terre.
How did I die?
How did I die?
or didn’t I?
Didn’t I die at all?
I fell into a ditch
inside an A7V
on the end facing
Mephisto is it’s name
How did I die?
How did I die?
or didn’t I?
Ein schwarzes Biest
ein Splitterregen
über den Bäumen zerspringt
und niedergeht
How did I die?
How did I die?
or didn’t I?
Didn’t I die at all?
Now there is only that sinister brown belt
a strip of murdered Nature
It seems to belong to another world
Every sign of humanity has been swept away
The woods and roads have vanished like chalk wiped from a board
of the villages nothing remains but gray smears
where stone walls have tumbled together
A confused mass of troubled earth
Columns of muddy smoke spurt up continually
as high explosives tear deeper into this ulcered area.
How did I die?
I fell from the sky
or didn’t I?
I filled my mouth with water
so the bullet could suceed
How did I die?
How did I die?
Did I die by my own hand?
or didn’t I?
How did I die?
Or didn’t I die at all?
How did we die?
or didn’t we?
didn’t we die at all?
We didn’t die
We didn’t die
We are back with a different song
We didn’t die
We didn’t die
We’re just singing a different song
we are back with a change of weather
ein anderer Wind, ein neues Lied
We didn’t die
We didn’t die
We give you a different song
okookookookooskrookookookookoo
the difference is in the song
okookookookooskrookookookookoo
difference makes the song
We didn’t die
We didn’t die
We didn’t die
We didn’t die
_ Einstürzende Neubaten (from a script by Kurt Tucholsky) _
to all the war’s victims…

Image info:
“How did I die?”
Italy, Jan. 2013
© Massimo S. Volonté

Photo Friday this week’s challenge: – Signs of Autumn –

2 thoughts on “How did I die?

  1. I cannot do a Like, although I do like the sentiments behind your photo so much. We , I think about these poor people , caught up in war, death and destruction with pain in my heart.

Leave a Reply

