Career opportunities

Career opportunitiesThey offered me the office, offered me the shop
They said I’d better take anything they’d got
Do you wanna make tea at the BBC?
Do you wanna be, do you really wanna be a cop?
Career opportunities the ones that never knocked
Every job they offer you is to keep you out the dock
Career opportunity, the one that never knocked
I hate the army and I hate the R.A.F.
I don’t wanna go a-fighting in the tropical heat
I hate the civil service rules
I won’t open letter bombs for you
Career opportunities the ones that never knocked
Every job they offer you is to keep you out the dock
Career opportunity the one that never knocked
Oi!
Bus driver…. ambulance man…. a ticket inspector
(I’ve done all of them…)
They’re gonna have to introduce conscription
They’re gonna have to take away my prescription
If they wanna get me making toys
If they wanna get me, well hell, I got no choice
Career opportunities the ones that never knocked
Every job they offer you is to keep you out the dock
Career opportunity, the one that never knocked
Careers…
Careers…
Careers…
That ain’t never gonna knock!
_ The Clash (Career opportunities) _

Image info:
“Career opportunities”
Milano, Italy, May 2013
© Massimo S. Volonté

2 thoughts on “Career opportunities

  1. This post just made my day. I love The Clash and this song never fails to remind me how much I don´t want to be a part of the traditional career system. This post gave me the motivation I lacked today to work hard to make my own path in life. Thank you for that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,532 other followers

