I ran through the woods

I ran through the woods…Last night I heard your voice
You were crying, crying, you were so alone
You said your love had never died
You were waiting for me at home
Put on my jacket, I ran through the woods
I ran till I thought my chest would explode
There in the clearing, beyond the highway
In the moonlight, our wedding house shone
I rushed through the yard, I burst through the front door
My head pounding hard, up the stairs I climbed
The room was dark, our bed was empty
Then I heard that long whistle whine
And I dropped to my knees, hung my head and cried
Now I swing a sledge hammer on a railroad gang
Knocking down them cross ties, working in the rain
Now don’t it feel like you’re a rider on a downbound train
_Bruce Springsteen (Downbound train, excerpt)_

Image info:
“I ran through the woods”
Milano, Italy, March 2013
© Massimo S. Volonté

3 thoughts on “I ran through the woods

  1. Pingback: I run through the woods... - Leica User Forum

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,601 other followers

